2016: A Norwegian Odyssey

The 10-euro-a-pint-land was our destination of the year in 2016. I knew that it was a beautiful country, but I didn’t know that it was this beautiful. Honestly, it is amongst my top three countries to visit so far.

If you are a city wanderer or a beach towel, then it may not be as interesting for you as it was for me (although I visited beautiful cities like Bergen and Alesund, and I did go swimming above the arctic circle which was a-mazing :)). The beauty of Norway is in its wild landscape. Every corner you turn, there’s another stunner waiting for you.

There are places you can visit that are listed on your guide books. There is this fjord and that fjord and hell another fjord that you definitely have to see. But of all places, the two you cannot afford to miss in my opinion are the Lofoten Islands and the Jotunheimen National Park. They are so out of this world, unbelievable. In fact, take your tent and your hiking gear and spend a good few weeks just exploring these two locations. (I couldn’t go to Svalbard this time, but I hear that it’s another must go. Another time, another trip)

Two weeks weren’t enough to appreciate Norway as we should have, but was surely long enough to drain our bank accounts – hell, it’s one expensive country. Still, it’s well worth it. It has been a long time since my trip – a bit difficult now to write how I felt when I was there. So instead, I leave you with a video and a few photos that I took. Enjoy 🙂

p.s. This is my first shot at editing a video, so please show mercy when criticising it 🙂

p.s.s. Yeah, I know, the joke at the end is for the amusement of the team members only and may not be understood by the public audience. Apologies 🙂

Leave a Reply

